celebrity

Selfies, dogs and collages: Just 43 celebrities and their first ever Instagram posts.

It’s strange to think that at the beginning of the decade, we didn’t have Instagram.

We could go out for brunch without snapping a photo of it. We didn’t know what influencers were. We did things because we… wanted to, instead of ‘for the gram’.

Instagram entered our lives in October 2010 and quickly became the go-to social media of celebrities, and many of us non-famous folk too, but the Insta of old is… different.

The concept of a selfie is actually a bit… weird. Post continues below video.

Video via Mamamia

Bad filters, unnecessary hashtags and duck face. Lots of duck face.

And while the archive feature exists to hide away any posts that don’t quite fit your 2019 aesthetic, or 2012’s embarrassing #breakfast phase, most of us just sort of… forget, because to get to the bottom of our own feed would take the type of scrolling we save only when stalking our best mate’s ex’s new girlfriend. For research.

Some celebrities are only just getting on board the Instagram train, like Jennifer Aniston and Matthew McConaughey, but other’s have been there from the beginning. We scrolled back – yeah, manually – to the bottom of celebrities’ feeds to find their first ever post.

Enjoy.

Kylie Jenner.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Rain day fire<3

A post shared by Kylie ✨ (@kyliejenner) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Don’t worry, Kylie got the hang of this Insta thing after a while.

Kim Kardashian.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

My first instagram pic… Kisses for instagram!

A post shared by Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) on

If we ignore the frame and the filter, this holds up.

Kendall Jenner.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Disneyland!

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Khloe Kardashian.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

I am finally on instagram

A post shared by Khloé (@khloekardashian) on

Kourtney Kardashian.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Mermaid obsession!

A post shared by Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Jennifer Aniston.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

And now we’re Instagram FRIENDS too. HI INSTAGRAM ????????

A post shared by Jennifer Aniston (@jenniferaniston) on

Never forget the time Jennifer Aniston literally broke Instagram.

Matthew McConaughey.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

officially mcconaughey

A post shared by Matthew McConaughey (@officiallymcconaughey) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Julia Roberts.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Hello☀️

A post shared by Julia Roberts (@juliaroberts) on

Jennifer Garner.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

I am officially on Instagram! So, please follow me because isn’t that how this works…? Xx, Jen

A post shared by Jennifer Garner (@jennifer.garner) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Natalie Portman.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Everyone’s resolution for the year: No more accepting sexual harassment and inequality at work as normal. It’s not normal. #TIMESUP

A post shared by Natalie Portman (@natalieportman) on

Reece Witherspoon.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to my amazing mother! And all the wonderful mothers out there !

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Helen Mirrin.

An icon.

Lady Gaga.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Dolly Parton.

Will Smith.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Will Smith (@willsmith) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Serena Williams.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Up up and away!!!

A post shared by Serena Williams (@serenawilliams) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Britney Spears.

Anne Hathaway.

ADVERTISEMENT

Leonardo Dicaprio.

Selena Gomez.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

I’m back…. #STARSDANCE

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

ADVERTISEMENT

The Rock.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Rock. You. Instagram. We’re open for business… #InstagramGetsRocked

A post shared by therock (@therock) on

Cher.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

U looking at me

A post shared by Cher (@cher) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Robert Downey Jr.

Meryl Streep.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

What a great memories #me #oscar #merylstreep

A post shared by Meryl Streep (@merylstreep) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Alec Baldwin.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Alec Baldwin (@alecbaldwininsta) on

Naomi Campbell.

ADVERTISEMENT

Hugh Jackman.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Dali likes his billboard

A post shared by Hugh Jackman (@thehughjackman) on

Jennifer Lopez.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

#LIVEITUP

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) on

ADVERTISEMENT

J.Lo just had to let us know, ya know?

Gwyneth Paltrow.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

#tbt I ❤️bdp

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on

Beyonce.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Imagine 2019 Beyonce wearing those glasses.

Harry Styles.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Deerstagram?

A post shared by @ harrystyles on

Kristen Bell.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

I don’t know how to use instagram but I do like this picture.

A post shared by kristen bell (@kristenanniebell) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Chrissy Teigen.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

I’m officially instagramming.

A post shared by chrissy teigen (@chrissyteigen) on

The Queen of Instagram before she was Queen of Instagram.

Rob Lowe.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Gotta get the monkey off my back!

A post shared by Rob Lowe (@roblowe) on

ADVERTISEMENT

(Not a monkey)

Oprah.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Me and friends

A post shared by Oprah (@oprah) on

Mariah Carey.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Christmas 2011

A post shared by Mariah Carey (@mariahcarey) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Madonna.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Election Night 2012

A post shared by Madonna (@madonna) on

Channing Tatum.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

#ChanningTatum and his adorable rescue pup Lulu. #TatumPhotoADay #PuppyLove #September #photochallenge #Day15

A post shared by Channing Tatum (@channingtatum) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Justin Bieber.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) on

(But uh, his second ever post was a photo of him kissing Selena on the cheek so that’s… cool).

Ariana Grande.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Me & grandpa!!! He’s wearing his Ariana army hoodie! Hehe… I love him more than anything. ????⛄????

A post shared by Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Nicole Kidman.

Chris Hemsworth.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Hangin’ with the locals in my backyard… the real Jurassic Park!

A post shared by Chris Hemsworth (@chrishemsworth) on

ADVERTISEMENT

Liam Hemsworth.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Spent Friday with the most beautiful girl in the world. Kermit, #SorryNotSorry. #TheMuppets #misspiggy

A post shared by Liam Hemsworth (@liamhemsworth) on

And there we have it.

Excuse us while we go rest our scrolling fingers.

00:00 / ???